WriMo Aftermath

After a few well needed days of rest, NaNoWriMo is finally over. So, did I make my fifty thousand word goal? Well, not exactly, but I’m still extremely excited about what I’ve accomplished. In previous years attempts to finish NaNoWriMo, I’ve steadily increase the amount of words I’ve written. The first year, I wrote fifteen thousand words, a good start, but still left a lot to be desired.  The second years attempt was a much better success at approximately thirty three thousand words.  This year however, I made a massive amount of improvement.

In November, 2013, I managed to write 46,383 words. I managed to get ‘oh, so close’ to the fifty thousand word goal, that I still feel immensely accomplished. A few things in particular caused me to not meet that goal though, and I’m at least glad that I recognize them. The first is due to a powerful urge to live in a comfy house and eat more than top ramen for three meals a day. In order to pay for rent, bills and food, I needed to pick up a few job hours here and there, making it more difficult to find time to write. But I did still make time to write.

The second thing that hindered my completion of the goal, is due to the way I allocated my time. Rather than meeting the approximately 1,700 words per day goal, I often prefer longer sessions of focusing on my work and writing for much longer periods of time, completing five or six thousand words in one sitting. In theory, and quite a bit during the execution, my plan worked extremely well. The plan to write all fifty thousand words in ten long days, rather than spread out over fifty days, nearly worked. I was just one long writing session from finishing my goal too.

The final thing that stumped the writing process, was realizing that, unlike my first novel “The Drive Home,” there was no way my story would be finished in only fifty thousand words. And honestly, that’s great! The goal of NaNoWriMo isn’t to write a full novel in the time frame, it was to write 50K words, but the fact I was so close and yet so far was daunting and exciting all at the same time. However, in the days prior to the competition, I’ve hit that fifty thousand word mark and I’ve got somewhere in the range of twenty five thousand words left or about eight chapters to go. Thinking about how little I have left to write, in comparison to what I’ve already written, NaNoWriMo was time well spent.

So, the last few things I have to say about the competition and what it’s helped create: Some time very soon I will have a second novel written, and no excuse to not get the hell to work on editing, polishing and finishing my completed works for the world to see. And now that the writing month is over, I can get back to creating new and hopefully intriguing content for The New Writer’s Journey, that will showcase the hell out of my novels. Hell, if I’m lucky, the site may not be “The New Writer’s Journey” for very long. Lastly, novel writing month is over and I can’t wait to do it again next year. If my progression through the years continues, writing 50K words will be a piece of cake next year, and all I have to say to that… bring it on.

Leave a Reply

