Bursting At The Seams, With Creativity

The Black Ruins writing session, 33 total pages and finishing at the start of chapter 3.

The Black Ruins writing session, 33 total pages and finishing at the start of chapter 3.

Sometimes you get an unwarranted burst of creative energy that you simply can’t ignore.  That’s what happened to me last night. While I’ve been letting the dust of completing my first story settle before I go through and edit it myself, I had written a few pages for another idea I had for a great story. Last night however, I got a completely out of the blue, urge to open my computer and write a bit more for that story. So that’s exactly what I did, but for some reason I couldn’t stop. Hours passed by before I realized that I had written an additional 27 pages in one sitting.

It’s quite an achievement when previously it was difficult to get a dozen pages down in one day. Going from writing about three thousand words a sitting to blasting out seven thousand was down right inspirational to me, I can’t help but wonder how much I would have written had I started earlier than seven in the evening. But no use in wondering, and next time I get an urge like this, hopefully quite a bit more often, I’ll take full advantage of it and write another 30 pages in one sitting. At that rate a first draft may be done in no time, but I am focused and on track with The Drive Home, and I know that, that must come first. While in my spare time I may work on my other projects I still know where my priorities lie.

Leave a Reply

