Top 10 Writers Quotes

Here I have a list the top ten quotes on writing that I’ve been able to find. Many of the sites I’ve found that give quotes from writers, or quotes about writing, are usually quotes that have no inspirational or deeper, truer meaning. These 10 are all quotes that after reading them I felt an immense urge to keep writing, or had the thought that, “Wow that really is true about writing.” Some are deep, others just make an uncanny amount of sense. I’ll comment and touch on a few of these in the future. Also if any of these have inspired you to write in the past or present, or if you have a quote about writing that you feel should make the top ten list, please let me know in the comments below!

10. “Being a good writer is 3% talent, 97% not being distracted by the Internet.” ~Anonymous

9. “Fiction is a lie, and good fiction is the truth inside the lie.” ~Stephen King

8. “Sometimes you have to go on when you don’t feel like it, and sometimes you’re doing good work when it feels like all you’re managing is to shovel shit from a sitting position.” ~Stephen King

7. “First, find out what your hero wants. Then just follow him.” ~Ray Bradbury

6. “I am a drinker with Writing Problems.” ~Brendan Behan

5. “Writing is like sex; you don’t have to wait until you’re an expert to begin doing it.” ~ Anonymous

4. “There is nothing to writing. All you do is sit down at a typewriter and bleed.”  ~ Ernest Hemingway

3. “If you would not be forgotten as soon as you are dead, either write something worth reading or do things worth writing.” ~Benjamin Franklin

2. “If my doctor told me I had only six minutes to live, I wouldn’t brood. I’d type a little faster.”    ~Isaac Asimov

1. “It’s none of their business that you have to learn to write. Let them think you were born that way. ~Ernest Hemingway

One thought on “Top 10 Writers Quotes

Leave a Reply

