You Should Probably Know…

I guess it is about time to learn a little bit more about me. As you may have gathered from my first posts, I have always had a weakness for a good story. I was raised on the rather unorthodox mixture of The Catcher in the Rye, Star Wars, and Final Fantasy, and ever since those stories latched their hooks into me at such a young age I knew what path I was going to take. Most people, quite specifically, know what they would like to do for a living. “I want to be a fireman,” or “When I grow up, I want to be a lawyer.” For me it was much more, and much less, simple.  I knew that when I got older I would be a storyteller.

In middle school, I was quickly pulled into the world of acting on the stage. This spawned my desire to be an actor. After many lead roles in many various plays, I came to enjoy the act of directing them. From there, I began to do more reading of screenplays and other various mediums, and eventually the thought of writing them was planted firmly into my mind. One after another, the aspirations seemed to fall like dominoes into their places in my future. Quickly I learned that I enjoyed every facet of telling a great story and began investigating all avenues of my career choice.

Writer, director, actor/voice actor, thespian, animator, video game developer, all of these are careers that I have expressed an interest in. Most have accused me of being over zealous and of having far too high of expectations, but I’ve always thought to myself, if I enjoy doing these things why should I limit myself to one indulgence? Gamblers usually smoke, smokers usually drink, why shouldn’t I be a writer and a computer animator?  I began doing schooling for computer programming and computer animation, so that I had a fiscally sound career in mind, which allowed me to in my spare time focus on the paths that required little financial backing. This brings us to where we are today, full of enthusiasm and loving it.

Now, as you know, I am looking into writing my first novel, the successor to all of the short creative writings I’ve done over the years. Soon I will upload a little more about myself, rather than my career choices it will be more about me as a person. You’ll learn more about the pet owner, the gamer, and the overall jack-of-all-trades in regards to hobbies.  Then, I’ll soon be uploading my first excerpt from my book and a hefty synopsis of the novel. While you wait for that, keep an eye out for more posts, and I’ll be posting an ongoing word count in the page entitled, “The Drive Home.” I hope that we’ll all find out that we have a little something in common and can learn a bit more about one another as we continue forward!

Leave a Reply

